Hospital Reimbursement in Several States Examined In New WCRI Webinar

The research discussed in this webinar will give decision makers some insight about what happened after some states implemented a fee schedule or a change in fee schedule approach.

In response to higher and rising hospital costs for medical care received by injured workers, several states have made changes to their hospital reimbursement, specifically Florida, Georgia, Indiana, and North Carolina.

Join the Worker Compensation Research Institute’s (WCRI) Senior Analyst Carol Telles for a one-hour webinar on Thursday, January 18, 2018, at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, and 10am PT) as she discusses the impact of these policy changes in the above states and takes your questions. Ms. Telles will be sharing findings from WCRI’s CompScope™ Medical Benchmarks, 17th Edition, which examined the costs, prices, and utilization of workers’ compensation medical care in 18 states through March 2016 for injuries occurring mainly in 2010 to 2015.

“In many states, system stakeholders are looking to control the growth of hospital costs in their workers’ compensation systems without causing access-to-care issues,” said Ramona Tanabe, WCRI’s executive vice president and counsel. “The research discussed in this webinar will give decision makers some insight about what happened after some states implemented a fee schedule or a change in fee schedule approach.”

Questions addressed:

  • What was the hospital reimbursement policy change made in each state?
  • How did the changes to hospital reimbursement impact costs and cost growth?
  • Were there any unanticipated consequences from these reimbursement changes?

Webinars are $50 for Non-Members and FREE for WCRI Members, members of the press, legislators as well as their staff, and state public officials who make policy decisions regarding workers’ compensation. Attendance is limited to 500 people, and all attendees receive a free copy of the slides. To register, visit https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/4000154531267367682.

About WCRI:

The Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) is an independent, not-for-profit research organization based in Cambridge, MA. Organized in late 1983, the Institute does not take positions on the issues it researches; rather, it provides information obtained through studies and data collection efforts, which conform to recognized scientific methods. Objectivity is further ensured through rigorous, unbiased peer review procedures. WCRI’s diverse membership includes employers; insurers; governmental entities; managed care companies; health care providers; insurance regulators; state labor organizations; and state administrative agencies in the U.S., Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.

Share article on social media or email:

Article Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *